Haway the Grads

The day we have all been waiting for has finally arrived! It is time for graduation!

As you are reading this, I am probably going up on stage now to receive my 2:1 degree in Public Relations. However, I did want to share some words of wisdom that I fell upon one day as I was browsing the internet.

Whether you have graduated, are graduating, or are yet to graduate, it doesn’t matter, because this post is for everyone who needs a bit of inspiration.

It is now time to share some wise words from some wise (or not so wise) people.

“I was convinced that the only thing I wanted to do, ever, was to write novels. However, my parents, both of whom came from impoverished backgrounds and neither of whom had been to college, took the view that my overactive imagination was an amusing personal quirk that would never pay a mortgage or secure a pension. I know that the irony strikes with the force of a cartoon anvil, now.” – J. K. Rowling.

 “Death is very likely the single best invention of life. It’s life’s change agent; it clears out the old to make way for the new… Your time is limited so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma, which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice, heart and intuition.” – Steve Jobs.

“As you leave these gates and re-enter society, one thing is certain. Everyone out there is going to hate you. Never tell anyone in a roadside diner that you went to Harvard. In those situations the correct response to, ‘Where did you go to school?’ is ‘School? I never had much in the way of book learnin’ and such.’ And then get in your BMW and get the hell out of there.” – Conan O’Brien

So, there we have it. Just a sprinkling of some funny, yet kinda inspirational quotes. Let’s just hope that the speech I hear is just as inspirational!

 

Leave a Reply

