Be your own editor

Personally, I have always been a fan of superfluous words. Whether it be when I’m writing a personal blog post, or a social media post for a client.

But that has all changed recently.

After reading many articles and looking at my work in comparison to others, I realised that my writing style can be awful. I have never really had a whole lot of guidance on writing style, apart from what I got taught at university, but there are so many different kinds of style!

I haven’t been out of university for long, (6 weeks to be exact) but I have learnt A LOT since then. From writing and rewriting, making mistakes along the way, and reading as much good work as possible.

From all of this, there are five stand out things that I have learnt:

  1. Keep your formatting consistent. This may seem obvious, but it is something that many people regularly forget. You are more than likely to have read and reread your story more times than you can count, meaning you no longer see the extra spaces and errant punctuation.
  2. Use active verbs. Unless you are covering something that already happened, you can tighten your work by keeping your verbs active.
  3. Stop with the lengthy sentences. Very few eyeballs read long, text-only sentences. So do us all a favour. Keep it short. And snappy.
  4. Be conversational. The best writing tends to come from writers who aren’t afraid to write like they speak. This kind of writing can be raw and incredibly rich.
  5. Ask questions. I know I love a good question, do you? Use every opportunity to connect.

This week you can tell I’ve kept it short and sweet. Just getting back into the swing of things.

Are there any tips that you can share with me? Tweet me or comment below.

 

2 responses to “Be your own editor

Leave a Reply

