Reputation is everything

Previously, I wrote a blog post about being true to yourself and self branding, and since then, I have been working on my own branding, and figuring out who I want to be and how I want to portray myself.

This mainly started as I am only three months away from finishing my degree, and I want to be the best person I can be when applying for jobs, if I am true to myself and just be who I am, then that is the best I can do!

Throughout the duration of ‘finding myself’ it occurred to me that it is one thing finding yourself, but a completely different challenge is keeping the reputation that you have built for yourself, so I thought it was about time to share some pointers with you, that I intend to use.

  1. Time – this is something that you need to thoroughly understand. Time management is everything in this day and age, so if you have an understanding of it, and know how to utilise your time efficiently, then you are one huge step in the right direction.
  2. Flexibility – another importanRet factor in being successful in the creative industry. You need to be flexible with a number of things, such as deadlines, feedback and schedules. You also need the client to be flexible, so if you show you are willing, then the client is more likely accept any changes you want to make that they may not necessarily want.
  3. Honesty – as we all know ‘honesty is the best policy’. It is imperative that you stay honest with yourself, as well as having an honest and open relationship with your client. People are more likely to respect you if you are honest with them, even if being honest means bad news.

The three above factors are not only important to retaining your reputation but will also help in becoming a trusted source in your career as a communicator.

The key to establishing trust between your personal brand and the client (or employer) lies in your ability to deliver with consistency and believe me, I know this from personal experiences!

Leave a Reply

