Perfect, practice and perfect again

Despite having this blog for over a year now, I still have some struggles with refining my abilities when it comes to writing and editing.

Although I have been passionate about writing since I can remember, there are still a number of times where I sit and stare at a blank screen, or my hand hovers over my notebook while holding a pen. I also have a huge internal struggle when I look back at posts and other things I have previously written, and hate myself for writing in a certain way, or editing it so it looks one way when now I think it should be another.

Writing is a lifelong process of perfecting, practicing, perfecting again and honing. Forever.

This is why I have made the decision to come up with a few pointers which will help you to practice your writing skills, and it is also something that I will be able to look over in the future and either find it the most helpful post ever, or I will again suffer from the never ending internal struggle.

  • Play word games. My family is a huge lover of Scrabble and Boggle and as much as I hate to admit it, so am I. It has been proven that playing word games can  help people think creatively and expand your vocabulary.

download

  • Solve problems. Anagrams are a great place to start. There are plenty of websites where you can look at a jumble of letter then you have to guess the word. Another educated choice is to watch Countdown (and you can get the bonus of Nick Hewer!) and decipher as many words as you can from the vowels and consonants that are on screen.

peek-clam-and-make-anagrams

  •  Write what you normally don’t write about. Writing about new topics can really help your writing skills. As a PR student, I am becoming much more accustomed to writing press releases, but I would immediately panic if I had to sit down and write a poem… but I’m willing to try it and I’ll get back to you on that one.

tumblr_m5l8kz0zqq1qcmrkno1_r1_500

  • Read. Forever. No one needs an excuse to pick up a book, especially not me, it is now just a natural instinct for me to do so. Many people also consider reading to be the key to consistently strong writing, and it will also help with finding inspiration.

download (1)

Have you got any other tips that you personally use? If you do I would love to hear them so I can try them out, either comment below or tweet me @HLennox_PR.

 

One response to “Perfect, practice and perfect again

  1. Pingback: The week’s best to 5 February·

Leave a Reply

